gabygoescanada.reismee.nl

Good... ?!?! of the New Year

Hello Everyone

You never know what the New Year will bring but I wish that it will be a good and healthy year for everyone. Sometimes you can also ask yourself whether the beginning of the year will also be the leading for the rest of the year. I will tell you how my year started. As you may have read I had my mother to visit during the holidays and after New Year Day she was still with me for a few day before she would go back home. We have had a few nice days in which I could show her even more of Nova Scotia. So we went to Peggy's Cove, the most visited attractions of Nova Scotia. We had nice weather which made the drive along the coast is even more impressive.

But on Thursday came an end to the holiday and we left for the airport around noon. As a farewell gift we got some snow flurries that later on turned in to a blizzard. After an half hour drive my car started to stutter and that didn't feel good. When I parked beside the road to check what was wrong it would not start again. So here we are then, somewhere along the highway in a continuing blizzard on our way to the airport. I first tried to call a friend, but he could not help us at that time. So I called to my work for what phone numbers of a taxi and a tow truck .... Mmmmm déjà vu. I try a few numbers but nobody answers the phone, so I called back to work for a few other numbers. Eventually I get me a company on the phone, but they cannot help and he gives me another phone number. Meanwhile my phone is telling me... you have 7 minutes left .... Which are disappearing fast if you call long distance I you can tell you that. I try another taxi company and luckily they can help us, I tell that I don't have much more credit on the phone and this friendly man offers to call a tow truck for me. And there will be a taxi with us within 15 a 20 min to pick us up. Later on the tow truck company calls me but while we talk about how or what and my phone dies.... So here are and waiting in anticipation of what is to come and my mother begins to wonder whether she will catch her flight on time. But then the taxi comes and it turns out to be a very luxurious car, Brian the driver is very friendly and lends me his phone so I can call the tow truck back and he then informs if the plane is still leaving on time and about half an hour later we arrive at the airport. ... We have lots of tie to check-in and this time my mom goes trough without problems.

After we said goodbye I go looking for a card to upgrade my phone that crazy enough they do not sell at the airport, but Brain who kept waiting stops at a gas station where I can upload my phone again. He brings me to Halifax where I had a 2 day course and where I hopefully will get a ride back home with one of my colleagues who are following the same course. The course had started at 9 that morning and by the time I arrived it was 3 in the afternoon. By now I had been in contact with the garage but they could not yet tell me what was going on with the car was ... However, they were just in time before my car was impounded because he stood along the highway. We agree to call again the next day and with a bit of luck I can get my car on the way home again. Around 5 pm my colleague drops me off at home and while I walk to the door I realize that my house key is still in the car whit all my other keys.... mmmmm, I call my landlord but she is not at home so I'm visit a friend where I can warm up with a nice cup of tea and when I try again my landlord is home and she is so friendly to open the door for me.

The next day I can get my car after the course in Halifax in a small town about a half an hour drive from Wolfville. The damage is not too bad ... it turns out that it had been an ignition coil. And then it turns out that they could repair the damage from the ditch before Christmas for a small fee of $ 400 and that is lot different than the garage where I had an appointment that could fix my car for a sum of $ 1200.... Guess who is going to fix my car. So .... All in all I am kind of glad that again I had some bad luck with my car.

So far my beginning of the New Year, talk to you next time, Gabrielle

Reacties

Reacties

Sandra...

mmmh...why I'm not suprised about the key-story ;-))) Send you a big hug!!!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!