gabygoescanada.reismee.nl

End of my travels...??

Hello Everyone

Okay, I knowit isfar too long ago for a small write-up, but this time I have a good reason for this. And I will tell you why ....

The last time I had droppedKatharina off at the farmwhereshe went to stay andwork and I moved on. I'm thinking about it to get a job in Nova Scotia and then looking for a little apartment or something. Because after more than a year of tours and staying at other peoples homes I now would like to have my own space. So in Parrsboro, Nova Scotia I start asking around for work and come to the talk with Glenn, owner of a restaurantthat looks very nice. He would like tohire me on the spot but he does not have an opening at the moment. But there is someone on the nomination to go away. Weagree to keep in touch if something would change and I travel a little further, the weather is changing a lot but this part of Nova Scotia is also very beautiful. At one point I decide to travel back towards Annapolis Valley to search for a job.

On my way back I selected a camping that looked very nice, it's not to big and nice in price. High season is here and I'm not keen on a crowded campsite. Anyway, Idrive on to the campsite and see a sign with 'facilities use at your own risk' euhmm, okay .... I drive farther and it doesn't look really shabby so I decide to go to thecamping next to it. I get to talk to the owner and she offers me a job to the camping for checking in guests and stuff. I have to think about it is not directly what had in mind, but it is for a short period and then I can always look further. Later it turns out that it is not a paid job thatshe had in mind, 20 hours per week for a free tent site and 30 hours per week if I want to use a cabin. I thank her for her friendly for the offer, but I'drather go looking for a paid job.

By now, I have found a new host family where I can stay near the area where I want to and look for a job. In this way it is somewhat easier than if you must apply from your little tent site. Anna and George have a large property where they grow vegetables for salein addition they maketofu and many other products from soya beans. Anna started producing tofu a couple of years ago and now sells tofu and many other products at stores, restaurants, and at farmers markets. Unfortunately because of health reasons she can not do it anymore and now George and Heather her daughter work with the tofu. I check with Anna and George if theywould now anything for jobs and housing and they have someideas, George suggests to go to some of the wineries in the neighbourhood. I had seen an ad of a nice restaurant in the neighborhood and haddropped of my resume, the ad was only a few days on the internet and the chef had already had more than 30 responses .... somehow I don't expect to get this job. Later when Iam working withGeorge to make the tofu he tells of the plans that they have around the tofu. He tells me that they areactually looking to hire someonefor making the tofu,so that he has a little more time to work in the garden ... mmmmI is kind of funny because i have been telling them that I am looking for a job and they newer thought about their own business.

I am interested in the job although it means that I'll have to work with George and that could be somewhat tiring...because he talks quite a lot, down to the details. And especially if thestory becomeswhat technical and he uses many numbers then I loose track. And in the beginningyou want to be polite andlisten to the story but it soon turns out that you don't really have to listen if you occasionally just sayYes and euheuit isokay but still it can be verytiring. Anyway,about the job I would have to talk toAnna, she is the one to talk about hiring staff and all. The job would behelping with making the tofu and baking muffins, (made from soy) tofu dips and other products. Unfortunately, however, they can only offer a part-time job, so I figured that if I would have another part-time job, I could look for an apartment or something. But than again it doesn't seem such a good idea if you want to settle down, joggling two jobs that would not work out. So I eventually I decide to go and look for a full-time job.

On kijiji.ca I see an ad for a cook in a restaurant in Wolfville, I have a quick glance atthewebsite and send a small email with my resume. Now I'malso busy looking for an apartment but haven't had much luck, I try to calla lot of people to or email but I get but no response. Then I get a emailfrom the restaurant in Wolfville, ifI would be still interested and want to come over for an interview .... No problem, so I think just to have a better look atthe website. And then I get a little bit nervous when I read what things the chef has done and that the restaurant is very good standing. But the nerves prove superfluous, the chef is very friendly and tells me about the restaurant and gives a smalltour through the restaurant and kitchen. And he suggest to come that evening fora few hours to and watch and possibly help to see what it would be like. Sothat evening I help with making fishcakes and I see how the dishes are passed.It is quit busy andI get agoodfirst impression, it seems to me what I can learn a lot and what I find especially interesting is the pastry cook needs replacement. And I would love to bake bread and sweet stuff and ice cream.Anyway, the next day, I have anothermeeting with the chef and it all turns out that I have a job starting onMonday.

The same day I call about a newspaper ad for an apartment and thistime someone answers the phone, half an hour later I am standing in front ofan apartment where we can not enter. The Lady in question apologizes but something is wrong with the door and she can seem to open it. I peek through the window (it is empty) but what I see looks fine, it's not big but not too small either and the price is very attractive. The neighborhood is quiet and near a small park so I am very interested. Weagree to meet again a few days laterwhen the Carpenter has fixed the door and that I then take a decision, but I know already that I would like to have it. What a luck......a job and an apartment on one day ....

Now I am started at www.tempest.ca and I am now busy with setting up my new apartment. The apartment there is one of 12 and comes with a fridge and a stove and has a little laundromat in the same building. Until now I have a bed to a chair and a table and what kitchen stuff, the rest will come later. I amstill looking for an internet service provider and a phone connection and then I'm as good as settled.

So .... , no longer looking for a new place to sleep or a place to stay for a few weeks. And whether this is the place I was looking for .... I don't know the future will tell.

That's it for now, talk to you later, Gabriëlle

Reacties

Reacties

Sandra

and this is what your little co-pilot told you...you get the job and a nice apartment...no. 12 is a good number :-)))
I wish you a wonderful time! And by the way...send me your address! ;-)

Dr. Trudy, Madoc, ON

Hello Gaby. Good to read all your reports and hopefully you're still working and living in Wolfville, NS. We traveled that area last year fall and it was awesome beautiful.

Hope all works well for you, so you can stay in Canada.
whenever you come this way, be sure to stop by.
Much Love,
Your friend,
DocTrudy

Dr. Trudy, Madoc, ON

Let me hear more from you.

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!