gabygoescanada.reismee.nl

Quebec, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island (English)

Hi Everbody

High time for a update, in my previous story I was telling that I would move on to New Brunswick but because I was not sure which route I would follow I stayed a week longerat Kabania. And heck they could use the help.In that week we made some nice progress with the construction of the common room, the walls are intact, the roof is as good as finished except for the roofing and the connection between the kitchen block and the relaxation area is also taking form. We also begin to construct the bridge over the River to the park. Quite a chore because we have around 9 meters to cross. But with a few men/woman strong we lift the first 2 beams across the River, the River is not too deep and it's sunny weather so in our shorts and t-shirt it is not a bad job.

I've decided that June 1st I would go on my way though the bridge is not finished and they ask me to stay longer againbut now I wasready to go. And this time I have again some company, Kathy ... she is my age and comes from France. The intention is that we leave around nine o'clock in the morning but after some delays and extended farewells to everyone we can get on the road at 10. Euhhhm....even dough I dare to say that I am reasonably well organized but when it comes to on my keys ... well let's say that I misplace them sometimes. And what I hope it will never happen to me, it happens now anyway. I'm always afraid to close the trunk with the keys inside. And now we are about to leave, and I can't find my keys. The trunk and back seat are filled with stuff .... And then if I almost crawled in the trunk by folding open the backseats, Marie asks what is going on. I come out of the car and explain that I was sure that I had put the key in one of my trouser pockets and while telling that I do it again .... And, you can guess what I find.... Okay, finally ready to way to go to Baie Saint-Paul, where we have selected a campground that also rents cabins.

It's a hot day and after a few hours sweating in the car we arrive at the campsite..... is closed. We decide to drive further to Tadoussac were we already selected a hostel for the next day, we eat a sandwich and some fruit to a picnic table and continue.It is a small cosyhostel and has a bar where a band will be plaing that evening, it's a bit chilly outside but we take place at the terrace and listen to the bandand they playa mix of French and English music.

Tadoussac is located at the intersection of the Sagueney River (sweet water) and the Saint Lawrence River (salt water) what an attractive environment creates for whales.The next day we go for a walk along the beach and we drive to the Sagueney fjord that is known to the beluga whale, unfortunately, we see no whales but it is a beautiful setting. We continue our trip with the ferry to Matane on the other side of the Saint Lawrence River and stay overnight in a hostel but this one is made out of several cabins on the beach and they even have and Jacuzzi. We drive along the coast towards Perce which is very popular whit the tourist including the national park and the rocky coastline, unfortunately it is very foggy and rainy that and we get an occasional glimpse of the environment to see, but what we see is very beautiful.

The closer we come to New Brunswick, the better the weather becomes and we decide to go camping, Kathy takescharge of the campfire and I put up the tent so we won't get completely numb before we go to sleep. I must say it is more fun when you have a campfire especially if you would have marshmallows, what would be perfect but once I start with that I don't know how to stop so it is good that we don't have any.

In New Bruswick we also drive along the coast to the South and camp at various campsites and visit the Kouchibouguac Park where we walk along the beach and a small walk through the wetland/swamp. The wetland is very vast and the perfect surrounding area for moose but of course they don't show themselves. I'm amazed at the amount of carnivorous plants that we see, carnivorous plates I would have guessed more to tropical areas and not to Canada. So you see we learn something new every day. It is a short walk through this area, and that is just as well because we are eaten alive by mosquitoes and black flies, welcome to Canada the Canadians would say and then it is not even high summer yet. By the time you get more than 10 mosquitoes bites on one arm you stop counting, so I am not counting anymore.

We also bring a visit to the Irving ecological Park, a 12-kilometre-long sand dune along the coast. This is in constant motion by climatic influences. The sand dune is estimated about 2000 years old and there is a 2 kilometer long wooden boardwalk built over the dune back, unfortunately, the storm of last year, destroyed a large part and there is 800 meters of promenade left, but you can still walk along the beach.

Despite that we take it easy we quickly travel quite a bit of mileage and arrivedon Prince Edward Island already. We drive on the 13-kilometre-long bridge, and we have wonderful weather, the part where we arrive, is known for its red cliffs along the coast and wow .... the combination of the green trees, the blue and Red Sea coastline is gorgeous .... again wow I had not expected this at all. The island is not very large if you would do a drive along the coast it would take you about 17 hours. We do not yet have a specific plan of what we want to do, so we'll see what we encounter. It is difficult to keep the car a bit in order if you both have a large backpack, which fortunately fit in the trunk but then I also added a cooler and some stuff for camping what has moved to the back seat.

Kathy likes to read about the area where we're driving and she is using a travel guide about the eastern provinces in Canada, but in addition the passenger seat begins slowly to emerge in to an order/disorder of information papers and roadmaps. And it happens that I often see Kathy turn and look for something she has misplaced. Until now, once we almost turned the car upside down for a silver Hairpin, then the cabin and the bags upside down for that same hairpin. And then the car once again for the travel guide. And not to mention the many times that the iPod was misplaced. Oh well, I try arranging the car every now and then but somehow we managed to put it in an organized disorder in no time.

So now we drive around on PEI which is a very beautiful island with many green hills filled with trees and the Red sandy soil that creates beautiful pictures. We're going on a visit to a wine tasting where we end up talking with Wendy who let us taste some wines made out of blueberries, strawberries and rhubarb. Most are pretty sweet but very tasty. Wendy has lived five years in Holland and speaks fairly good Dutch and we are invited for the the next evening to go to a pirate/bbq. In the end Kathy stays in hostel because she does not feel too well and I'm going together with Wendy and Hans her husband to the party. It's funny because as the evening continue, and there still people arriving at the party arrive, the more fancy the pirate costumes get.

I meet Mike who works for a computer company that is making software to help people to learn some basic words in another language. And he asks me whether I'm interested in translating and recording a number of words from English to Dutch, what seems to me very interesting. He asked Kathy to translate because as well because her French dialect is different from Quebec dialect. To make a long story short, Kathy and I end up at Mike's place where he has an Office in the basement and we start translating a list of words. It was expected that the translation and recording approximately will take about 4 a 5 hours. Eventually it takes longer than we expected and he proposes that we remain at his house so we can sleep in 2 extra rooms and we can continue the next day with the recording. That evening he takes us along to the restaurant of Eugene a friend, which is only open during the high season is the rest of the year he travels around the world, and gets new ideas for new dishes.The season is just starting so it's not too busy and Eugene later joins us at our table. When he hears that I've worked in various kitchens I get a tour of the kitchen, maybe 8 m ² is but very efficiently organized. We are the last guests remain and after a while we go to the local pub to watch the hockey game and we have a very nice evening.The next day the intention is to start with the recording of the translation but there are all sorts of other matters for the company and it is not a good time to start recording. We say goodbye we'll keep in touch and maybe in the future I can still can do the recording. So we that morning we leave whit some extra money in the pocketfor the ferry to Nova Scotia. But the next time more about that.

Talk to you later, Gabriëlle

Reacties

Reacties

Sandra

...Gabrielle and keys...it's a special relationship! :-)

I miss travel adventures like this with you!

Send you a big hug!!!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!